‘Magic: the Gathering’ Announces ‘Magic Origins’

Reading Time: 2 minutes
Image: Wizards of the Coast
Image: Wizards of the Coast

The ever-growing cycle of Magic: the Gathering sets is still going strong. Each year sees its own core set (often labelled by the year “2015,” etc.), and three blocks. Those three blocks tell a story over the course of the year. This year, Wizards of the Coast is shaking things up. A different kind of block is to be released on July 17th: Magic Origins, including 272 cards.

This block focuses on five Planeswalkers through their careers, adding depth and interest in the story line. Normally, five of these characters are released each year with the Core Set, and are included in the growing story through that year’s releases. This time, the Planeswalkers will not be accessories to the story; they will be the story.

The Planeswalkers featured are Nissa, Jace, Liliana, Gideon,  and Chandra. This block explores the home planes of those legendary heroes and reveals their personal journey as they became the mages we know and love. Mark Purvis told us during the announcement that the alterations to this block will change the way M:tG addresses Planeswalkers in the years to come.

20 million people worldwide play Magic: the Gathering, with over 7,000 game shops hosting tournaments, events, and selling cards in America alone. Players around the world will get a new dose of their favorites as Wizards uses Magic Origins to launch a resurgence in their story lines.

The schedule for this block’s release is below.

Pre-release events: July 11-12
Release: July 17
Launch weekend: July 17-19
Magic Online access begins: July 27
Keep an eye out for pre-order opportunities!

Get the Official GeekDad Books!