Bowie Is Back (Sort of) With ‘Let All the Children Boogie’

Entertainment Featured Geek Culture Music


Guys, I’m not gonna lie. I get quite a few surprises through the mail. Lots of stuff just magically shows up at my door. Some of it’s cool; some of it not so much. And some of it? Some of it is just phenomenal.

So it was a pleasant surprise to get this CD a little while back and see Bowie’s name. I know what you’re thinking: a CD? Like, actual physical media? Yep. So it was an absolute thrill went I popped it in and was blown away. This CD is everything you want it to be. (It’s also available digitally, of course.)

Let All the Children Boogie is a tribute to the music of David Bowie and presented as an all-ages album. Never thought of Bowie’s music as particularly kid-friendly or good fodder for kids music? Think again. This compilation is great. Plus, proceeds from the record benefit the It Gets Better Project and its mission to communicate to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender youth around the world that it gets better, and to create and inspire the changes needed to make it better for them. In short, It Gets Better works toward a world where all the children can boogie freely.

The album features new interpretations of Bowie’s work from a diverse group of artists intent on sharing his legacy and message with a new generation. Not all of the artists are household names, but each brings a unique spin on familiar Bowie classics, such as “Ziggy Stardust,” “Space Oddity,” “Heroes,” and “Let’s Dance.” And the genres cover the spectrum from rock to jazz to funk.

And yes, “Magic Dance” is included. You’re welcome.

Throughout his life and career, Bowie proved that there are no rules about who you should or could be in this world. His musical and artistic approach defined the very essence of creative freedom. He lived a glowing life on his own terms–a shining example of infinite possibilities. And on top of everything else, he always knew that children were a different species and welcomed them into his world.

The world is a darker, less interesting place without him in it, but this CD shines a light into the darkness and makes us all smile at the legacy he left… and want to dance.

Tracklist (there’s not a stinker among them):

  1. The Honeydogs and Chastity Brown – “Oh! You Pretty Things”
  2. Walter Martin – “Breaking Glass”
  3. Sonia de los Santos and Elena Moon Park – “The Man Who Sold the World”
  4. Rachel Loshak with the New Standards – “Starman”
  5. Lloyd Miller and Dean Jones – “V-2 Schneider”
  6. Sally Timms and Jon Langford – “The Prettiest Star”
  7. Molly Ledford – “Sound and Vision”
  8. Justin Roberts and the Not Ready for Naptime Players – “Kooks”
  9. Antibalas – “Let’s Dance”
  10. Gustafer Yellowgold and the Pop Ups – “Space Oddity”
  11. Ted Leo – “Heroes”
  12. Wunmi – “Fashion”
  13. Storey Littleton with Marco Benevento – “Life on Mars?”
  14. Gina Chavez – “Modern Love”
  15. Red Yarn – “Magic Dance”
  16. Nakia and the Barton Hills Choir – “Golden Years”
  17. Elizabeth Mitchell and You Are My Flower featuring Simi Stone – “Changes”
  18. Uncle Rock and Tracy Bonham – “Lady Stardust”
  19. Colin Brooks – “I’ll Follow You”
  20. Rhett Miller – “Ziggy Stardust”
Liked it? Take a second to support GeekDad and GeekMom on Patreon!