Sprout Touring Film Festival Gears up for Spring Tour

Reading Time: 2 minutes

SproutFilmFest

Started in 1979, Sprout is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping people with developmental disabilities grow through challenging, creative, fun experiences that enhance socialization, self-confidence, and inclusion. These programs include group vacations, as well as SproutFlix, which is the only distributor of films exclusively featuring people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

The Sprout Touring Film Festival brings SproutFlix films to theaters across the United States. In 2015, over 40 agencies ran a Sprout Touring Film Festival in their local community. The spring 2016 festival circuit kicks off next month, with festivals on both coasts and stops in between.

Pittsfield, MA  /  Sunday, April 3  /  Berkshire County Arc

Farmington, ME  /  Wednesday, April 6  /  Spurwink

Portland, ME  /  Thursday, April 7  /  Spurwink

The Dalles, OR  /  Saturday, April 9  /  Opportunity Connections

Bethlehem, PA  /  Saturday, April 16  /  The Arc of Lehigh and Northampton Counties

Tempe, AZ  /  Friday, April 22  /  Arc of Arizona

Towson, MD  /  Saturday, April 23  /  The Arc Baltimore

Wichita Falls, TX  /  Saturday, April 23  /  The Arc of Wichita County

Boise, ID  /  Thurs. April 28 – Fri. April 29  /  The Arc Idaho

Dickson, TN / April 30  /  Developmental Services of Dickson County

Bend, OR  /  Friday, May 6  /  Full Access High Desert

Eugene, OR  /  Tuesday, May 10  /  Full Access

Corvallis, OR  /  Wednesday, May 18  /  Home Life

Piscataway, NJ  /  Saturday, June 4  /  The Arc of New Jersey

You can check out SproutFlix’s offerings online at SproutFlix.org, including the romantic comedy 3:15 to Brunswick and the stop-motion short Fixing Luka. For more information, to find a city hosting a Sprout Touring Film Festival near you, or to learn how you can bring the festival to your town, go online at SproutTouringFilmFestival.org.

Get the Official GeekDad Books!